The Ernst-Otto Czempiel Award

In honor of its former, long-serving director Ernst-Otto Czempiel, PRIF has established an award to recognize the best post-doctoral monograph published in the field of international peace research during the previous two years. Each award holds a value of 5,000 Euro.

An awardee is selected by a jury comprising Prof Senghaas-Knobloch, Dr Jörn Grävingholt and PD Dr Jonas Wolff. Inaugurated in 2008, the award ceremony takes place every two years and is conducted during PRIF’s Annual Conference. Book versions of doctoral dissertations and books by authors above the age of 44 at the time of publication are excluded.

A list of past awardees can be found here.


The Albert Osswald Foundation's Hessian Peace Prize

The Hessian Peace Prize was founded on 16 October 1993 by the former Prime Minister of the state of Hesse, Albert Osswald, and his foundation.

The Hessian Peace Prize is awarded to individuals who have rendered outstanding service to furthering mutual understanding among nations and peace. Each year, an awardee selected by the Hessian Peace Prize committee receives the award of 25,000 Euro.

PRIF advises the committee in the selection of awardees and documents the award ceremonies.

Awardee 2019: Abiy Ahmed Ali, Prime Minister of Ethiopia

Further awardees of the Hessian Peace Prize


Members of the Committee of the Hessian Peace Prize

Karl Starzacher
Minister of State (retired), Chairman of the Committee of the Hessian Peace Prize

Norbert Kartmann 
President of the Hessian State Parliamen

Heike Habermann
Vice President of the Hessian State Parliament

Peter von Unruh
Director at Hessian State Parliament

Veronika Winterstein
Vice President (retired) of the Hessian State Parliament

Prof Dr Nicole Deitelhoff
Executive Director of the Peace Research Institute Frankfurt (PRIF)

Prof Dr Ursula Schröder
Academic Director at the Institute for Peace Research and Security Policy at the University of Hamburg (IFSH)

PD Dr Ines-Jacqueline Werkner
Senior Researcher at Forschungsstätte der Evangelischen Studiengemeinschaft e.V. (FEST). Institut für interdisziplinäre Forschung

Prof Dr Conrad Schetter
Director for Research at the Bonn International Center for Conversion (BICC)